Maine Divorce Records

How To Access Main Divorce Records
The Maine Office of Vital Records, Department of Human Services in Augusta, has certified copies of divorce records available for issuance. Another source of Maine divorce records is the State Archives where the dissolution of marriage information often includes details such as names and ages of the children of the divorcing couple. Such information may be useful for family history, or genealogical searches, or for dating background checks.

In person viewing of Maine divorce records is available in both state offices in Augusta, but if you do not live near this city, searching for the exact dissolution of marriage record you need is made much quicker and faster by using online services. As professional, authorized providers of Maine divorce record information, our secure search box system starting on this page makes it convenient and efficient for you to access the vital records data you need right now.

Maine Divorce Decree

Start 14-day Free Trial!

Contact And Fee Information For Maine Divorce Records
Currently, the state offices have set Maine divorce record fees at $15 each for certified copies of the records and $10 for non-certified copies. Certified copies of Maine divorce records are printed on official paper and are typically used as legal proof of dissolution of marriage or as valid identification for some government benefits.

Non-certified Maine divorce record copies are printed on regular paper and are not accepted for legal proof or identification purposes. Both types of certificate copies include the same information such as both names on the divorce documents, the case number, the date and the county where the dissolution of marriage was granted.

To receive your Maine divorce record information as quickly as possible, just begin filling out the hassle-free, secure search box form you see on this page. We are an authorized, professional Maine divorce records provider for all counties in the state:

*Androscoggin *Kennebec *Piscataquis *York
*Sagadahoc *Knox *Aroostook *Cumberland
*Lincoln *Somerset *Franklin *Oxford
*Waldo *Hancock *Penobscot *Washington

We provide official Maine divorce records obtained from these sources:

Maine Office of Vital Records
Department of Human Services
221 State St., #11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011

Maine State Archives
230 State St., #84 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333

Search room phone: (207) 287-5795

By state law, you must supply your relationship to the parties on the dissolution of marriage documents as well as your reason for requesting Maine divorce records. If the records are from your own divorce, you may need to provide a legible copy of your valid photo ID.

If you are requesting a certified copy of a Maine divorce record that is not your own, you may need a signed permission form of at least one of the individuals named on the document. In many cases though, if your relationship and reason make sense such as for family history research or legal purposes, you will be granted quick access to the copy of the Maine divorce record you need.

Remember that according to Maine law, a small fee must be paid before the search for the record can be performed. Maine law also states that if the record is not found, the fee is non-refundable as it applies to the search itself. With the present fee at $15 for a certified copy and $10 for an non-certified copy, this is reasonable and the costs will always be kept small for legal reasons. Using the search box on this page to find official Maine divorce records is the most, efficient, affordable and time-saving method to help you locate your record. Get started now!