Missouri Divorce Records

The Department of Health and Senior Services, Bureau of Vital Records, maintains and issues Missouri divorce records. Only divorces from July 1, 1948 to the present are on record at the Bureau of Vital Records. Certified copies of these divorce records are available for request from this location, but documents dated prior to July 1, 1948 must be accessed only from the Circuit Clerk in the county where the dissolution of marriage was granted.

How To Access Missouri Divorce Records
Certified copies of divorce records dated from July 1, 1948 to the present are usually available from both the Circuit Clerk and the Missouri Bureau of Vital Records. Getting a certified copy of your own Missouri divorce record in a self background check can be a good idea, so that you can make sure your dissolution of marriage information is correct. Remarriage is typically legally impossible without legal proof of a prior divorce.

Missouri Divorce Decree

Start 14-day Free Trial!

Contact And Fee Information For Missouri Divorce Records
The fee for Missouri divorce records may vary depending on the county from which they are requested. Currently, the fee for a certified copy of a Missouri divorce certificate obtained from the Bureau of Vital Records is $15 with each additional copy of the same document ordered at the same time also priced at $15. Divorce records requests may be made through the mail to Vital Records either using a form obtained from that office or a letter stating why you are requesting the certificate. You must also include your relationship to the individuals named on the document in your request since Missouri divorce records aren’t open to the public.

The letter or request form must be signed and contain your contact information, including your daytime phone number. The full names of the individuals on the divorce document and the date and county in which the dissolution of marriage was granted must be supplied from you on the request form or letter. Checks or money orders are acceptable forms of payment for the required search fee. Cash payments are not accepted and requests including this type of payment may be returned unprocessed to the requestor.

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
Bureau of Vital Records
PO Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 751-6387

Divorce Records And Missouri Law
In accordance with Missouri law and privacy rights, only the persons named on divorce documents are typically permitted to access copies of these records. People or agencies with proven legal authorization may also receive access to Missouri divorce records. When requesting a Missouri divorce record, you must specify your relationship to the persons named on the document even if you are one of those individuals.

Under the law, the applicable fee for certified copies of divorce records must be paid in Missouri before the services can be provided. The fee also applies to the records search itself and is non-refundable whether or not a divorce record is found. If you are unsure of the current fees at the time of your request, you should obtain an official Missouri divorce records request form from the Bureau of Vital records rather than send a letter.